Goggles

Former Member
Former Member
I am new to OW (as in I have never done it). I lap swim fairly regularly though. I need a new pair of goggles but I want them to be geared to OW. Anybody have any suggestions? Anything particular straps, seals or other feature I should look for? Thanks in advance!
  • I use the same Swedish goggles I've used in the pool for years. In several open water swims over the last several years, I've learned that the most important thing is comfort over the long haul, and the Swedish goggles fit that bill for me. Second is being able to sight the buoys. So while I often use orange goggles in pool, I switch to blue for open water. Orange buoys tend to wash the color of the buoys out making them difficult to find. On particularly bright days, I use smoked or mirrored goggles in open water.
  • I actually bought a pair of open-water specific goggle last year. While I think they're fine, I still prefer my clear vanquisher goggles over them or anything else I've tried. The open-water specific goggles have a wider field of view, but for me, when underwater, they create some sort of weird double vision or overlap that bothers me. And I don't like tint or coloring on goggles because I prefer to see things as naturally as possible. If it's very sunny and the sun is low on the horizon, I might consider some tinted goggles, but normally I'll just opt for the clear ones and squint :)
  • The main difference is that they shouldn't fog. In open water the further you can see for sighting, the better. Not uncommon for the people around you to be going one way when the turn buoy is another. I've been on both sides of that situation the good and the bad.
  • Every time I swim, I put a dab of baby shampoo into each lens, rub it around, then rinse. Since i heard of that technique, I haven't had any problems with fogging. Super easy/cheap. You can get a travel-sized bottle and it'll last for most of hte year.
  • Former Member