25 yards and 25 meters - where are we going with this ?

Former Member
Former Member
I've spent a little time looking over this site to find out how much I don't know about the current Masters Swimming scene. And also, what I might be able to do to become competitive. Something quite new seems to be races that are only one-length of a short-course pool. 25 Yards and 25 Meters. Where is the organization going with that ? Will they be considered for Top-Ten rankings ? How did it get started ? Old-N-Slow
  • The 25's are all in fun...(for now!) :banana:
  • I don't think they count for anything official. They're usually just novelty events at beginner-type meets.
  • Former Member
    Former Member over 5 years ago
    I'm a slow newbie shmuck, but I love having a 25m day on Thursdays. It takes me about 18.5sec on a good day. Hey, that's a lot of seconds!! The 25m is meaningful to me. I'd love to know what the WR is for 25m. In that 20.26sec 50m SC video, I think they hit the wall at just under 10sec, but that is flip turning vice reaching. I suspect 9.5sec? I see 25m at some meets around my area, but they don't officially count, or show up in results. Hail 25m!!
  • Because for 3 of the strokes, it would be 90% the same event - underwater dolphin kicks to 15m and then three strokes. Because in swimming, the fastest you are going is off the blocks, as opposed to running where that's the slowest you are going during the race.
  • Former Member