No kick

I'm something of a newbie to masters, though I've been swimming a long time. I have no kick, zero, nada. I have tried at masters swim workouts, but if I attempt to move down the lane using kick only, I float absolutely still in the water. If I kick a lot, I get cramps in feet and calfs. What to do???
  • Result: ankle tendontitis I guess I tried too hard. I was kicking a little better by mid July, but combining bike & run too was an overload. I'm not so young any more. Masters team training begins again this week after a summer hiatus. I'll go, but must be cautious.
  • As we age the only “trying” we can do in workouts is to try not to injure ourselves
  • I do toe raises on a step or the edge of some gym equipment to strengthen my ankle and calf muscles. I do sets of 25 x 3 to do this.
  • Former Member
    Former Member over 5 years ago
    Hi! I'm very new to this whole swimming thing :) My daughter is doing high school varsity swim. Here's my question... she flies past everyone, and laps most when doing kicking drills with a kickboard and snorkel. The coach speechless. Her speed is kind of freaky, actually. Then, when it's time for a stroke, she's in the bottom half of finishers. What is the deal?? How can we fix this? Thanks everyone! Sue
  • Does she do well in sprinting events?