Swimming newbie

Former Member
Former Member
Hi everyone! I'm learning how to swim and am writing about my experience. I hope you join me on my journey. here is article one: www.usms.org/.../articledisplay.php and here is article two: www.usms.org/.../articledisplay.php enjoy! Jerry
  • I'm enjoying your articles also! Sometimes friends say "I never learned to swim as a kid. I don't think I could do it now." Your articles can give them confidence! Keep on going! I also (like Vintage Dirt) learned to swim as a kid, although didn't join a masters' group until I was 54. I'm still learning new things--just learned how to flip turn at age 65! Also working on butterfly (that's been pretty hard, but I figure why not--whatever increases the fun!). Hope you keep on enjoying it!
  • Jerry! I am following your journey and I'm impressed with your courage and commitment. I have to admit that even though I learned to swim at a very young age, and even had some success as a competitive swimmer in the 70s, I still can’t do freestyle correctly. I guess it’s a good thing I was a breaststroker! LOL Anyway, hang in there. I think even Michael Phelps is still looking for ways to improve ;-) Wes
  • Hi Jerry, Congrats on your adventure! I'm enjoying the articles as well, especially since I keep trying to get my non-swimming friends to drink the chlorinated kool-aid. I think most of them won't do it because they're afraid of looking silly. These articles will be helpful to show them that no, they won't look silly, they'll look like someone learning a new lifelong skill.