Jaw Pain

Former Member
Former Member
Last night after my workout, I noticed that I had done something to my jaw during my swim and it really hurt to bite down. Fortunately, I had a dentist appt. this a.m. and the dentist said that my jaw was not dislocated, but he felt it might be a soft tissue matter and the muscle was inflamed. Has this ever happened to anyone?
  • Sounds to me like you were tense and it manifested in your jaw. Try some heat to relax it.
  • I'm not a doctor, but that is what I would do. Most of my injuries are because I am tense and moist heat works for me.
  • Former Member
    Former Member over 17 years ago
    Could be anything. Amisalignment anywhere from your feet up can cause pain in back, neck and jaw. Think about your body structure. An obvious thing I'd ask is: did you dive in at all or grit your teeth in a really hard portion of a set?
  • Former Member
    Didn't dive in, but I was gritting my teeth. The pool was really crowded and full of the non-competitive type swimmers who don't know lane etiquette (I'll leave it at that to avoid getting off topic and starting a debate over noodlers v. non-noodlers). Plus, I never really got into my workout last night, I was very tense the whole time and stayed annoyed throughout. When that happens, I tend to swim with more intensity trying to get the stress out and I was breathing pretty hard on several occasions.
  • Former Member