200m Individual Medley times

Former Member
Former Member
I am an amateur swimmer and have started swimming in the pool 2.5 years ago. I enjoy all strokes and swim IM. This last year i have trained hard and got to this time a week ago 2:41 200m im (25m pool). What would it take to catch ~ 2:25 ? What are the advanced techniques for an IM-er? I get a bit tired in the first 50m of butterfly and suffer a bit the backstroke exhaling part underwater.
  • IM is the great equalizer! We all are good in some strokes BUT, there are those others ones that make us mere mortals!
  • Hey everyone, thanks for the replies. My instructor says that i am more of a distance swimmer. Here are the splits (~) : fly:33, back:43, ***:47, free:38. This way is more clear. My start is bad. I lose like 3 sec because of it. Left side of the body is much lazier than the right one. Working on that too. If your start is bad, but your fly is still 5 seconds faster than your free, you are probably taking your fly out a little bit fast relatively. Even for a butterflier, the differential should be more like 3 seconds I would think. So I would guess your first step would be to pull back a bit on the fly and build into the back/*** more.