Lane sharing, two questions

1. I started doing flip turns about a year ago, and I'm comfortable doing them when I am working out alone. But when circle swimming with my masters team, it's hard to get comfortable doing flip turns coming in at an angle to the wall. Any suggestions on how to approach these kinds of flip turns? 2. I am also pretty new to butterfly. I am concerned about crashing my hand into someone swimming back toward me on the opposite side of the lane. I will sometimes try to extend my outside hand out slightly over the lane marker to stay as far to the right as possible, but I often brush the lane marker with the top of my hand as my arm is coming up out of the water. Any suggestions on navigation?
  • 1. Watch in your peripheral vision for the swimmer ahead of you to leave the wall. When s/he has passed you, angle to your left. Flip as far to the left of the lane as you can and come out straight (which will put you properly on the right) with your head between your arms. If you and your lane-mates are not too fast or too numerous, go 10s apart so that you have space to practice good turns. 2. I sometimes dive deeper than usual and do an extra kick to avoid smacking hands in our pool's narrow lanes.
  • Thanks for the helpful comments!
  • As above . Thanx for asking these questions. Many do not for a long time in the pool. Do not follow a swimmer too close when doing flips, allow them to clear the wall before you enter to do your flip. Angle your hands to correct where you are going to go as you push off the wall. ON fly watch for others doing fly as they should watch for you. This being said You will HIT others anyhow as the will hit you.