What to do with head during Freestyle?

Former Member
Former Member
Good tidings, everyone! As you can all see, I am incredibly new to this site. I joined due to a simple question I had. Now, I am a sophomore in high who just learned how to swim last year. My 50 free time went from 1:09 to 28.5 within the course of six months. Now, I desire to go even faster.r I was told last year to swim with my head down, with my eyes looking towards the floor of the pool. Now, I have a new coach, and he is telling me to lift up my head. I am incredibly confused, especially since I swim about the same regardless of which position my head is in. If I could get some advice, that would be fantastic. Thanks so much!
  • That is a remarkable time for 6 months of swimming. Your head should be in line such that your spine is straight as possible . Usually this means facing directly down. When the head is up, the legs sink out of the streamline. But if you're faster tilting your head up just a little, maybe it is needed.
  • Steve is right, in line with your spine, primarily down. The big thing is to maintain this head down position during breathing and also not picking it up for the turn.
  • In addition to the earlier advice about head position, your head should also remain still except to breathe. Like this turkey. www.youtube.com/watch