Breaststroke Rule Question

Last year I swam at a SCM meet and leisurely swam a 400 IM (had a bad cold and feeling lousy). I had been swimming *** for almost 50 years and was astonished when I was told I had performed an illegal turn. The meet was almost over, I was swimming a relay the very next heat, and the referee gave me a prefunctory reply something like I had not completed a stroke before the turn. He disappeared as soon as the meet was over and email to the meet manager failed to get me a definitive answer. I looked at the rule book online and saw nothing in the breaststroke regs that looked even close to it. I decided to not take any chances and glide into the wall instead of taking a short stroke. Now I was told that another swimmer was DQd last weekend at the Colonies Zone for the same reason. I have looked at the current rule book online and can find nothing about that. Is this an unspoken rule or an old one that has been removed and officials are still using? Very confusing!
  • I protested a DQ at World Masters Games in 1998 and had it overturned. It helped that I had written an article on the difference between an illegal dolphin kick versus legal undulation in breaststroke and was able to describe what I was doing and why it was legal. I was very careful to not make the discussion confrontational and the referee was very understanding. He said he never liked DQing anyone and was always trying to be fair to all. I have known many meet officials and they have all been great people. They tend to go out of there way to explain what is wrong. If something is questionable they will usually just tell you to watch it next time. I don't know why this judge was so unhelpful(as well as being so wrong.I often half stroke into the wall,I wish I didn't,but sometimes I misjudge,and it is definitely legal.)
  • I did pull, kick, then being a little bit from the turn, I did a short, but complete pull, without any kick.
  • Former Member
    Former Member
    Wait one minute:D You took two pulls right? Or it looked like two. Either way you did not follow the rules. You could not do this 50 years ago and it is still illegal. Then you should have been disqualified. Sorry but the rules do not allow this. I know Michael Moore would have DQd you, as would 99% of referee's, and turn judges. Bob, this rule you describe allows a short pull when you are too close to the wall. But in no way are you ever allowed two pulls, or two kicks. That is why all coaches say ALWAYS kick into the wall. You are always better to glide into the wall after a pull. You MUST practice your breaststroke turns and finishes. Michael, aren't you still Prince of Rules?
  • Former Member
    Former Member
    Originally posted by breastroker Wait one minute:D You took two pulls right? Or it looked like two. Either way you did not follow the rules. You could not do this 50 years ago and it is still illegal. Two pulls? Where did you get this from? What Bob said was that "I did a pull and then thrust my hands to the wall without a kick." That's called an incomplete stroke cycle, and it's perfectly legal.
  • O.K. now I am confused. Did you do pull-kick-pull-turn(legal) or pull-pull-turn(illegal)???