Last year I swam at a SCM meet and leisurely swam a 400 IM (had a bad cold and feeling lousy). I had been swimming *** for almost 50 years and was astonished when I was told I had performed an illegal turn. The meet was almost over, I was swimming a relay the very next heat, and the referee gave me a prefunctory reply something like I had not completed a stroke before the turn. He disappeared as soon as the meet was over and email to the meet manager failed to get me a definitive answer. I looked at the rule book online and saw nothing in the breaststroke regs that looked even close to it. I decided to not take any chances and glide into the wall instead of taking a short stroke.
Now I was told that another swimmer was DQd last weekend at the Colonies Zone for the same reason. I have looked at the current rule book online and can find nothing about that. Is this an unspoken rule or an old one that has been removed and officials are still using?
Very confusing!
Parents
Former Member
Originally posted by breastroker
Wait one minute:D
You took two pulls right? Or it looked like two. Either way you did not follow the rules. You could not do this 50 years ago and it is still illegal.
Two pulls? Where did you get this from?
What Bob said was that "I did a pull and then thrust my hands to the wall without a kick." That's called an incomplete stroke cycle, and it's perfectly legal.
Originally posted by breastroker
Wait one minute:D
You took two pulls right? Or it looked like two. Either way you did not follow the rules. You could not do this 50 years ago and it is still illegal.
Two pulls? Where did you get this from?
What Bob said was that "I did a pull and then thrust my hands to the wall without a kick." That's called an incomplete stroke cycle, and it's perfectly legal.