Breaststroke Rule Question

Last year I swam at a SCM meet and leisurely swam a 400 IM (had a bad cold and feeling lousy). I had been swimming *** for almost 50 years and was astonished when I was told I had performed an illegal turn. The meet was almost over, I was swimming a relay the very next heat, and the referee gave me a prefunctory reply something like I had not completed a stroke before the turn. He disappeared as soon as the meet was over and email to the meet manager failed to get me a definitive answer. I looked at the rule book online and saw nothing in the breaststroke regs that looked even close to it. I decided to not take any chances and glide into the wall instead of taking a short stroke. Now I was told that another swimmer was DQd last weekend at the Colonies Zone for the same reason. I have looked at the current rule book online and can find nothing about that. Is this an unspoken rule or an old one that has been removed and officials are still using? Very confusing!
Parents
  • Former Member
    Former Member
    Originally posted by michaelmoore If it happens in the water it is considered a judgement decision. This includes but is not limited to sections 101, 102.14, 102.15 and much of 103. There are many other parts of section one where there are interpetations of the rules- an example - how long does does a 25 meter course have to be to be legal is where 102.16.4 is applicable. You may have some inside knowledge of this to which most of us are not privy, in which case I defer to you. I was basing my remarks on the actual wording of 102.16.4, which says that it applies to "interpretation of the rules in Part I: Swimming Rules and the Glossary" (which would include all of the stroke rules). If what you say is true, then a swimmer's best bet would be to confront the referee with a copy of the rules and gamble that he was honestly trying to be fair, but was simply mistaken about what the rules say. And, in that case, the referee presumably would amend his decision.
Reply
  • Former Member
    Former Member
    Originally posted by michaelmoore If it happens in the water it is considered a judgement decision. This includes but is not limited to sections 101, 102.14, 102.15 and much of 103. There are many other parts of section one where there are interpetations of the rules- an example - how long does does a 25 meter course have to be to be legal is where 102.16.4 is applicable. You may have some inside knowledge of this to which most of us are not privy, in which case I defer to you. I was basing my remarks on the actual wording of 102.16.4, which says that it applies to "interpretation of the rules in Part I: Swimming Rules and the Glossary" (which would include all of the stroke rules). If what you say is true, then a swimmer's best bet would be to confront the referee with a copy of the rules and gamble that he was honestly trying to be fair, but was simply mistaken about what the rules say. And, in that case, the referee presumably would amend his decision.
Children
No Data