I just got my new Swimming World and it said that FINA was looking at allowing a dolphin kick in the breaststroke pullout. Does anyone know the status of this?
Originally posted by SwiminONandON
Ok ... I am going to try and not fly off the hanles on this one ... First of all Peirsol did NOTHING wrong. There is NO way he should have dq'ed. The rule is a full stroke - I don't not believe it says anything about gliding.
SW 6.4 During the turn the shoulders may be turned over the vertical to the *** after which a continuous single arm pull or a continuous simultaneous double arm pull may be used to initiate the turn. Once the body has left the position on the back, any kick or arm pull must be part of the continuous turning action. The swimmer must have returned to the position on the back upon leaving the wall. When executing the turn there must be a touch of the wall with some part of the swimmer’s body.
So, no, there is no explicit wording that gliding is forbidden. However, if you glide is this a "continuous turning action?" I would say no. I don't think most judges are going to DQ you unless this glide is pretty pronounced OR you continue to kick after you've completed the arm pull.
Originally posted by SwiminONandON
Ok ... I am going to try and not fly off the hanles on this one ... First of all Peirsol did NOTHING wrong. There is NO way he should have dq'ed. The rule is a full stroke - I don't not believe it says anything about gliding.
SW 6.4 During the turn the shoulders may be turned over the vertical to the *** after which a continuous single arm pull or a continuous simultaneous double arm pull may be used to initiate the turn. Once the body has left the position on the back, any kick or arm pull must be part of the continuous turning action. The swimmer must have returned to the position on the back upon leaving the wall. When executing the turn there must be a touch of the wall with some part of the swimmer’s body.
So, no, there is no explicit wording that gliding is forbidden. However, if you glide is this a "continuous turning action?" I would say no. I don't think most judges are going to DQ you unless this glide is pretty pronounced OR you continue to kick after you've completed the arm pull.