New To Marathon Swims

Former Member
Former Member
Hello, I am looking for some advice on where to start training for a Marathon Swim? I am signed up for Swim around Key West this June. Because of injury, I haven't been in the pool for quite some time, so I am basically starting from square one, with little distance under my belt. I have competed in Ironman triathlons and my average 2.4 time is about 1:05, but I have little to no knowledge of how to train for 11-12 miles in the ocean. I travel a decent amount for work too, so wondering if I can substitute some long swims for long runs? Any/All advice/thoughts is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
  • At the risk of overgeneralizing, I think most people here are pool swimmers. 1500 meters is "distance" to us. However, rooting around in my list of swimming links, I found a link to the Marathon Swimmers Forum, which features a collection of threads about Training, including one specifically titled Swim around Key West Training Plan and Feasability (sic). Hope that helps.
  • This has peaked my interest as a guy on our team is training for a 35 mile swim from N dakota to mini next summer.