My beginner son

Former Member
Former Member
Hello! I hope this is the right area for this. My son just learned to swim this past summer and he is now on a competitive swim team. We are so proud of how far he's come. He just had his 3rd meet and his 25 back is at 27.56, his 25 free is at 30.03 and his 50 free is at 1:14.63. He is 8 years old. My questions are what can I do to help him improve? I know that is rather vague, but I am still learning myself. He loves swimming and is giving up doing all other sports to swim competitively so I know it is his passion. Should I have him wear regular trunks for practice to help give him resistance in the water? Any tip for diving? He kind of just plops a bit almost like a split. Also when doing freestyle he has trouble figuring out how to do his breathing properly. I appreciate any help you guys can provide. I just want to help my kiddo to the best of my ability. Thanks so much!
  • I think at 8, the most important thing for him is that he enjoys going, learns to listen to his coaches, and tries his best in practice. He should not practice in a rec suit. Let the coaches figure out what he needs. I think for parents, support and telling him you are proud of him is more important than any attempt at coaching or teaching. Also, curb enthusiasm. It is easy to overdo our support as parents to the point where it starts to feel like pressure. The sport needs to be fun, especially when so young. It will feel like hard work soon enough if he sticks with it. I'd be careful calling it his 'passion,' even if it really is. My son was a fiend for gymnastics until he was 8. Then suddenly, he did not want to go back. He wanted to play baseball. Things change fast in a little kid's brain.