Video Recording Your Swimming

Do any of you keep a swim video journal? If so, has it helped you work towards or achieve your goals in swimming? I am just beginning to record my swim events in the weeks leading up to meets so that I'm not just looking at or tracking times, but also, form and technique. I've personally found videotaping makes weak and strong points in your swimming fairly obvious, whereas numeric or coaching feedback, while effective for other reasons, is not as strong at helping you visualize or correct form/technique. For those of you with experience of recording your swims, what do you recommend in terms of camera angles, how often you record or analyze your videos, how you store or organize your videos if you have a lot of them starting to accumulate, etc. This thread is also a good place if anyone wants to talk about using video analysis (ex. training videos on YouTube, or videos of swimmers racing or performing proper technique) to improve your swims.
  • I believe Video analysis of your swimming is staple for efficiency and injury prevention.
  • I do not keep a comprehensive journal. On occasion I will ask someone to video a 50 so I can see later what I am doing. Also, I use it often during lessons so my coach can point out my technique flaws and what to do differently, real time. I do find it more effective for me versus description only. I don’t have an intuitive sense of my body position while swimming, and as they say, the tape doesn’t lie (nor the clock).
  • Former Member
    Former Member over 6 years ago
    I often record with a go-pro.
  • I want to get a camera on my swimming more consistently, but I don't have a convenient way to do it. What I need is like a wide angle camera with a tripod and a waterproof remote to start it. I'm certain those things exist but I just haven't gone looking.