A serious question (I know, how unlikely is that?): I've been on the shelf most of the year since Nov., and I'm really curious as to how the new allowance of the single dolphin kick is being called. Not the official interpretation, but the actual experience of fellow breastrokers in meets, whether Open or Masters, local, zone or nats. At the time we originally discussed the new rule, there was the sentiment that some would push the envelope towards the second half-kick- is this happening, or are some calling it super-tight to avoid that?
Parents
Former Member
Originally posted by Jeff Commings
That guy shouldn't have been disqualified. The rules say you only have to do the dolphin kick before the first breaststroke kick. There is no rule saying it must be done "simultaneous" to the arm pull. That's just when the majority of people do it. I've seen top-notch swimmer do it right before the pull, as this guy did. No DQ.
If I were that guy I'd appeal. But it probably wasn't that big a deal in the end.
FINA has posted an interpretation of the rule as follows:
Interpretation (SW7.4):
A dolphin kick is not part of the cycle and is only permitted at the start and turn whilst the arms are pulling back to the legs or after the arm pull whilst wholly submerged followed by a breaststroke kick.
Originally posted by Jeff Commings
That guy shouldn't have been disqualified. The rules say you only have to do the dolphin kick before the first breaststroke kick. There is no rule saying it must be done "simultaneous" to the arm pull. That's just when the majority of people do it. I've seen top-notch swimmer do it right before the pull, as this guy did. No DQ.
If I were that guy I'd appeal. But it probably wasn't that big a deal in the end.
FINA has posted an interpretation of the rule as follows:
Interpretation (SW7.4):
A dolphin kick is not part of the cycle and is only permitted at the start and turn whilst the arms are pulling back to the legs or after the arm pull whilst wholly submerged followed by a breaststroke kick.