Is there a stated intention for the change to the backstroke turn change? The change deletes one sentence and changes the order of the other sentences. Does the deletion of the sentence indicate that you are now allowed to glide before starting the pull or was it simply considered redundant?
New SW 6.4 When executing the turn there must be a touch of the wall with some part of the swimmer’s body. During the turn the shoulders may be turned over the vertical to the *** after which a continuous single arm pull or a continuous simultaneous double arm pull may be used to initiate the turn. The swimmer must have returned to the position on the back upon leaving the wall.
Old SW 6.4 During the turn the shoulders may be turned over the vertical to the *** after which a continuous single are pull or a continuous simultaneous double are pull may be used to initiate the turn. Once the body has left the position on the back, any kick or arm pull must be part of the continuous turning action. The swimmer must have returned to the position on the back upon leaving a wall. When executing a turn there must be a touch of the wall with some part of the swimmers body.
Parents
Former Member
Originally posted by sibleyclan
Another point of contention that seems to understood differently by every person I ask is this: you can (or can't) dolphin kick on your back to reach the finish wall. Clarifications please.
Permissable by my understanding. Backstroke is essentially "freestyle on the back" with no particular stroke or kick either mandated or disallowed. You can do elementary backstroke if you want, you just have to be on your back.
While the rules place no restrictions on what kind of stroke you do, as long as you are on your back, rule 101.4.2 says that:
"Some part of the swimmer must break the surface of the water throughout the race, except it shall be permissable for the swimmer to be completely submerged during the turn, at the finish, and for a distance of not more than 15 meters (16.4 yards) after the start and after each turn. By that point, the head must have broken the surface of the water."
Since a dolphin kick is normally done underwater, it is normally illegal to do it past the 15 meter mark on each lap. But the question is what, exactly, is meant by "at the finish". Does this mean that you can dolphin kick underwater into the finish? If so, how far?
I would understand the answer to be defined by rule 101.4.4:
"Upon the finish of the race, the swimmer must touch the wall while on the back. The body may be submerged at the touch."
Note that it says "at the touch." I would understand this to mean that the swimmer is allowed to lunge underwater as he/she touches the wall, but that his/her body must have been breaking the surface prior to that.
Bob
Originally posted by sibleyclan
Another point of contention that seems to understood differently by every person I ask is this: you can (or can't) dolphin kick on your back to reach the finish wall. Clarifications please.
Permissable by my understanding. Backstroke is essentially "freestyle on the back" with no particular stroke or kick either mandated or disallowed. You can do elementary backstroke if you want, you just have to be on your back.
While the rules place no restrictions on what kind of stroke you do, as long as you are on your back, rule 101.4.2 says that:
"Some part of the swimmer must break the surface of the water throughout the race, except it shall be permissable for the swimmer to be completely submerged during the turn, at the finish, and for a distance of not more than 15 meters (16.4 yards) after the start and after each turn. By that point, the head must have broken the surface of the water."
Since a dolphin kick is normally done underwater, it is normally illegal to do it past the 15 meter mark on each lap. But the question is what, exactly, is meant by "at the finish". Does this mean that you can dolphin kick underwater into the finish? If so, how far?
I would understand the answer to be defined by rule 101.4.4:
"Upon the finish of the race, the swimmer must touch the wall while on the back. The body may be submerged at the touch."
Note that it says "at the touch." I would understand this to mean that the swimmer is allowed to lunge underwater as he/she touches the wall, but that his/her body must have been breaking the surface prior to that.
Bob