Backstroke turn rule change

Former Member
Former Member
Is there a stated intention for the change to the backstroke turn change? The change deletes one sentence and changes the order of the other sentences. Does the deletion of the sentence indicate that you are now allowed to glide before starting the pull or was it simply considered redundant? New SW 6.4 When executing the turn there must be a touch of the wall with some part of the swimmer’s body. During the turn the shoulders may be turned over the vertical to the *** after which a continuous single arm pull or a continuous simultaneous double arm pull may be used to initiate the turn. The swimmer must have returned to the position on the back upon leaving the wall. Old SW 6.4 During the turn the shoulders may be turned over the vertical to the *** after which a continuous single are pull or a continuous simultaneous double are pull may be used to initiate the turn. Once the body has left the position on the back, any kick or arm pull must be part of the continuous turning action. The swimmer must have returned to the position on the back upon leaving a wall. When executing a turn there must be a touch of the wall with some part of the swimmers body.
Parents
  • Former Member
    Former Member
    Originally posted by Jeff Commings What you highlighted in the old rule seemed to be repetitive, Lindsay. I think that's why it was deleted. Actually, I suspect that the old rule was originally intended to allow a glide after the roll past the vertical to the *** and before the start of the continuous turning action, and the now-omitted sentence was intended to state that swimmers were not allowed to stroke or kick during that glide. But as far as I can determine, FINA and USA swimming referees have for some time been regarding the roll past the vertical to be part of the turning action, so that a glide after the roll would mean that the turning action was not continuous. And if that is the interpretation they are going to give it, then the second sentence in the old rule becomes superfluous. Bob
Reply
  • Former Member
    Former Member
    Originally posted by Jeff Commings What you highlighted in the old rule seemed to be repetitive, Lindsay. I think that's why it was deleted. Actually, I suspect that the old rule was originally intended to allow a glide after the roll past the vertical to the *** and before the start of the continuous turning action, and the now-omitted sentence was intended to state that swimmers were not allowed to stroke or kick during that glide. But as far as I can determine, FINA and USA swimming referees have for some time been regarding the roll past the vertical to be part of the turning action, so that a glide after the roll would mean that the turning action was not continuous. And if that is the interpretation they are going to give it, then the second sentence in the old rule becomes superfluous. Bob
Children
No Data