I know I could look up the rule somewhere but I figured this would be easier. When you flip on your stomach to start the turn in the backstroke, can you continue to kick or do you have to stop kicking once you get on your stomach and just glide into the turn.
Parents
Former Member
Originally posted by LindsayNB
I believe the rule is that by the time you complete the pull you have to begin your flip, continuing to glide or kick is illegal.
The reason for this is that if there is a pause between your pull and your flip, the pull would not have been part of your continuous turning action.
So if you turn over to your front too early your only legal option is to really extend your pull so as to get close enough to the wall to flip before it finishes.
Actually, I find nothing in the wording of the rule that would prevent you from gliding without a kick before you initiated your arm pull, provided that the glide was not so long that you ended up stopping before you reached the wall, and provided that once you began the arm pull, there was no pause before you began your flip. This should also be legal in USS and FINA meets, since the the wording of the USS rule is identical to that of the USMS rule, and since the wording of the FINA rule is essentially the same. The NCAA rule, however, clearly requires that you initiate your turning action immediately after rolling toward your ***, so even a glide without a kick would not be legal.
Of course, gliding would kill your time!
Originally posted by LindsayNB
I believe the rule is that by the time you complete the pull you have to begin your flip, continuing to glide or kick is illegal.
The reason for this is that if there is a pause between your pull and your flip, the pull would not have been part of your continuous turning action.
So if you turn over to your front too early your only legal option is to really extend your pull so as to get close enough to the wall to flip before it finishes.
Actually, I find nothing in the wording of the rule that would prevent you from gliding without a kick before you initiated your arm pull, provided that the glide was not so long that you ended up stopping before you reached the wall, and provided that once you began the arm pull, there was no pause before you began your flip. This should also be legal in USS and FINA meets, since the the wording of the USS rule is identical to that of the USMS rule, and since the wording of the FINA rule is essentially the same. The NCAA rule, however, clearly requires that you initiate your turning action immediately after rolling toward your ***, so even a glide without a kick would not be legal.
Of course, gliding would kill your time!