Elisabeth Tinnon, a rookie breaststroker at U of Texas at the Big 12 champs on Friday night. At her first turn in the 100 *** she touched with both hands, and then did a flip turn (like a freestyle flip) She was not DQ'd. IT did appear that she picked up ground on the rest of the field. Has anyone seen this before.
Parents
Former Member
Actually the previous rules specifically required the hands to touch level, the new wording allows the hands to be at different levels so long as the shoulders are in line with the waters surface.
So one hand can be lower than the other, so long as they arrive at the wall simultaneously.:D One hand goes lower while the other goes towards the ears. So touching one hand lower than the other is naturally helpful in the breaststroke and butterflu turns.
Breaststroke has always been a stroke of rules, subtle rule changes can be huge.
Actually the previous rules specifically required the hands to touch level, the new wording allows the hands to be at different levels so long as the shoulders are in line with the waters surface.
So one hand can be lower than the other, so long as they arrive at the wall simultaneously.:D One hand goes lower while the other goes towards the ears. So touching one hand lower than the other is naturally helpful in the breaststroke and butterflu turns.
Breaststroke has always been a stroke of rules, subtle rule changes can be huge.