Fairly New Swim Parents Looking for Insight

Former Member
Former Member
I have a 12-year-old son who is in his third year of competitive swimming (He's been in swimming lessons since he was 6 months old but never swam competitively until he was 10). No one in my family as ever been a competitive swimmer so I am still learning all the nuances of the swim world, even after three years into it. Given that, I am trying to educate myself on what is the typical amount of "coaching" a swimmer gets at this age (or any age really)? What I mean is, I know by this age they pretty much have their strokes down but I'm thinking there are still things that need to be fine tuned. So how often does a coach or assistant coach say, "Your arms are crossing over during your free, trying doing this to lessen that." or "Your arms need to shoot out right away during your *** so you glide more."? Is it typical to have swimmers at this age just swim laps with no input from the coaches other than what to do next? Any insight is helpful. I still feel like a fish out of water at times.
  • Talk to the coach. They may be working on one facet now. It may be building stamina. I dont know. Certainly not all coaches are as involved as we may like, but they are almost all.smarter than the parents (that would include me). But one thing to know is that swimming is a very complex, and counterintuitive action. And an athlete can only process and put into place one thing at a time. Maybe he is working on getting one sspect solidified before working on others. You have to break it down and build it piece by piece
  • Former Member
    Former Member over 4 years ago
    Some things to add: The head coach rarely works with the older swimmers, it is mostly (like 99% of the time) an Asst. Coach that is in charge of the older swimmers. The Asst. Coach (last year and this year) just tells the swimmers the set they need to do and that is all. They provide very little (if any) technique critiquing.