When to think about joining Masters Swimming

Former Member
Former Member
Hi! I'm new to swimming as far as proper stroke technique goes. Learned how to swim as a kid, though. I'm currently taking the Stroke Introduction (Stage 4) class at the local YMCA. Figured it would be good to start with the basics and build up with a solid foundation from there. There are still two other class levels after Stage 4. Should I wait until I've maxed out of all YMCA offered levels before looking at joining the local Masters program?
  • HI there and welcome, Floaty. Talk to the Master's coach there at the Y. More than likely, s/he will give you an assessment to see where you are with your skills. They can let you know if they feel you're ready to jump in with them or if you need a bit more work. A lot of times, depending on the size of the team, there are a lot of different skill levels, speeds and needs. See what they think. Good luck!