beginner swimmer - looking to improve 1500 m time

Former Member
Former Member
Hi all, I am a relative beginner just started regular training. My aim is to get to 30' on 1500 m in a 50 m pool. I have tried a straight 1500 m in a pool last evening, and got 35'9" with not much effort with average 52 spl without flip turns, which was about 49 - 50 near the beginning but 52 - 54 towards the end. Last week I also tried a straight 2000 m in the same pool, and got 46'52", i.e. the exact same pace (2'21" / 100 m) as last evening, but with 50 - 52 spl at the beginning and 57 - 58 towards the end. More swim statistics includes: 10 x 100m on 2'30" - average 2'5" 10 x 100m on 3' - average 2'0" 4 x 500m on 12'30" - 11'22", 11'25", 11'49", 11'56" 50m all out - 47" with about 53 strokes (race time is much faster because races start with a dive) For comparison, my running race speed is 48'36" for 10 km on completely flat course, but any slope will tire me and slow me down immediately significantly. Should I work to reduce stroke per length, or increase the effort (i.e. stroke rate) to see if I can reduce my time further?
  • As a relative beginner just started regular training swimming 35+ minute 1500 now, I would say that a 30 minute 1500 sounds achievable. Should I work to reduce stroke per length, or increase the effort (i.e. stroke rate) to see if I can reduce my time further?Yes to both. Your swim time is a function of distance per stroke and stroke rate. Continued training and working on technique improvements will help with both is these. There isn’t any magic to it, to improve you need to practice.