How to swim when you're too scared!

Former Member
Former Member
If you’ve always wanted to learn how to swim, please read on. I will (should, lol) be able to help you. I’ve been a swimming instructor for a long time and everyone that I’ve taught simply needs to go through a simple process of exercises and they can and will become a very strong and confident swimmer. If you’re reading this, then I probably know you. You’re probably really nervous around the water. You definitely aren't a MASTERs level swimmer. Not only that, but you’re also probably really embarrassed that you cannot even swim a couple lengths confidently in the pool. And I get it, I’ve worked with hundreds of students before you and they always seem so damn stressed about their predicament. I also get that you don’t want to blow hundreds of dollars on swimming instruction that might not even work. So here’s my suggestion: Take matters into your own hands. Decide that you are unsatisfied with being scared in this area of your life and go and splash around in a pool. Get your ass moving and research the topic. Watch YouTube videos, find helpful resources, GO TO THE POOL AND TRY PADDLING AROUND. If you start trying things, whatever they might be, you’ll eventually figure out how to swim. With that said I just want to throw out what I think can be a VERY effective approach to become successful in the pool. Here’s a couple of steps that you can take that will practically guarantee you become competent in the pool. All you need to do is decide that learning to swim is a priority for you and that you’re going to try my suggestions. If you’re deathly afraid of the water, that is the first thing that you have to eliminate. You NEED to be comfortable just being and floating in the water. You might be thinking, “how can I just FEEL confident in the water. It’s not that easy”. I know, it’s ****ing hard to get control over your anxiety over something, but there’s a few tricks you can use, the most effective of