Are you experiencing muscle loss? I want to interview you!

Hi, my name is Gretchen Sanders, and I write for SWIMMER Magazine. I am working on an article about muscle loss in aging athletes for my next assignment, and I need some help finding sources. I would like to interview a few masters swimmers, male or female, who have noticed a decrease in their physical strength and are thus doing weight lifting/strength training exercises to supplement their swim workouts. Ideally you will be close to age 50 or older. I can interview you by phone at your convenience between now and August 10. I promise it won't take long! Thank you very much for your help. I appreciate it. Email me at rex757@yahoo.com Gretchen
  • I may be too old-am almost 73. I have been swimming for five years. I sure notice a lack of strength, balance and power, most of which has returned with training. I think, for me, it is imperative that I continue lifting if I want to swim well. I think that this is an interesting subject. Once I started I could tell the difference in my times and recovery.
  • I'm 68 now and not sure if I have, although all sources say you do lose muscle mass with age. I haven't been swimming seriously long enough to know, have never yet entered a swim race and have only been timing my training swims since January. All I can compare is running times and I have a long list of races showing decreasing times with age. I never liked weight lifting, consequently I rarely did any, however I have been a pushups guy since age 14 and have not noticed a reduced capacity doing pushups. I can still work up to a couple hundred a day if I wish.