Kicking goes nowhere

Newbie here again. I have no kick. Using a kick board I flail my legs like crazy and go absolutely nowhere. I literally come to a dead stop in the water. I try to kick from the hip. I try to keep them from dropping low. I found one video on line that explained how runners can have a difficult time developing a kick. I've been a runner 40+ years and my anatomy has adapted to that completely. It's all about how the tendons of the ankle and achilles have formed for running. I physically cannot point my toes beyond 45 degrees and doing so for more than a few seconds will result in calf cramps of mega-proportions. I also tried using fins once and didn't get 20 yards before severe toe cramps. My forefoot is also quite wide and can't be restrained in those things. Can anyone point me to a video that will give me pointers? Right now I'm going on 100% arm propulsion and the legs are just along for the ride and could even be holding me back.
  • Yes, I signed up for a 10 week master swim class, but it doesn't start until Feb 25. I'm just being a bit impatient.