Indtroduction and New to Swimming Need Some Tips

Former Member
Former Member
Good morning, Just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Deb aka EboniWave. I'm a new swimmer with about eight months of experience under my belt. other than learning some basics, floating and treading water as a kid, as an adult swimmer I'm pretty much self taught. I can now make it 25 yards without being totally out of breathe. But can't seem to make any significant progress with my breathing or form or technique. So that’s where I am today. My goal is to make swimming a viable cardio exercise that’s fun and enjoyable. I also need a form of cardio as an alternative to running that is non weight bearing and can take the stress off my feet, knees and joints. I had someone take another video of me this past Sunday, and I can now see some improvement. But here’s what I THINK is going on, and this is what I THINK I need help with: · I’m still lifting my head to high to breathe, which makes me sink low and work harder · Still kicking from the knee too much · Maybe I’m OVER rotating on each stroke · I drag my left arm, and my left arm crosses my body under the water · Stroke over 25 yards very inconsistent (both arms) https:youtu.be/hiWLu_adte8 last year (December) https://youtu.be/3bJrufWPyFc Last month https://youtu.be/7J9GEsCcXek taken last Sunday I’d really appreaciate it if someone would comment and critique my video. I've included all three for comparison with where I started and where I am now. I’ll start attending local Master’s sessions in January. In the meantime, it would really be great if I could get some tips to work on SOMETHING to improve before then. Thanks very much. EboniWave