Training advice for a non-swimmer with no "coach "

I've been reading through these forums for a while now and I've been impressed by some of the posts I've seen. I see some very helpful people with exceptional swimming knowledge, often life-long swimmers and coaches, giving their time for free to help people improve. Well, I need some help! I swim with Rogue Valley Masters, a very small workout group in Southern Oregon. I've never swum competitively in my entire life until I did my fist open water masters race at Applegate Lake in July 2011. My very first pool meet ever was December that same year. My athletic background is primarily running, but I've done quite a few triathlons as well, including an Ironman-distance event. I was always pretty strong at the swim portion despite never really training much for it. But an old knee injury finally caught up to me a few years ago and I had to stop running. Well, turns out I'm a pretty decent long-distance freestyle swimmer! I am so glad that I've found this sport because it has dramatically enriched my life. Swimming has been key to keeping my sanity and has ignited a passion inside of me that I didn't know existed. I love it and can't seem to get enough swimming and competing, especially in the open water! Now it's winter and open water season is over. I want to really focus this winter on improving my short course times. In open water, I can swim with (and sometimes finish in front of) people who regularly finish minutes ahead of me in the mile in the pool. So I think there's lots of room for improvement! For reference of past times, here's my swimmer info page: www.usms.org/.../1500F I've already done two SCM meets this year (Oregon Association Champs in April and Pacific Masters Champs in October) and for some reason, even though I swim much faster every day in practice than I did 1.5 years ago, and my turns are better (they're closed at least), I can't seem to match my SCM times from April 2012! I had a great LCM na