MASTERS - Personal best in 30's ???

Former Member
Former Member
My name is Miriama and I am 33 years old, living in UK. As a kid and during my teenage years I was competitive swimmer in Slovakia. Since then I have stopped swimming, but I miss it so much. Recently I have joined masters swimming club, .....I have been training with them for over two months and I love it, .....I can feel that I am getting stronger and faster each week ( I swim 5 times per week), as my son is back in school now I have time to go to gym (2 times a week) as well as have my swimming sessions. My question is - Is it possible with the right training to swim faster now (33 years old) then when I was 17 y.o.?????? My personal best are - 100m freestyle - 1:03 200m freestyle - 2:14 400m freestyle - 4:42 800m freestyle - 9:42 Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance,
  • 33 is young, here are the respective LC USMS World times, 30 - 34: 54.59 1:58.92 4:17.52 8:46.22
  • Oh yes,I was faster in my 30s than in college.
  • Dara Torres was still winning medals in the Olympics at age 41 - AND breaking records. en.wikipedia.org/.../Dara_Torres Here is a link to the top ten lists... type in your age group and events and see what others are doing. (not sure this years meter records are listed, so try last years date - 2012) www.usms.org/.../toptenlist.php I'm 46 and got back into swimming last year. I too am trying to get beat my old PRs. I still have a ways to go, but making significant gains with every meet.
  • The short answer to your question is yes, but it's not easy. And it's not just people who may not have swum seriously in their youth. For example, Steve West qualified for U.S. Olympic Trials last year. At age 40 who swam faster in the 100 *** than he did at 1992 Trials!