New to swimming...want to start off right!

Former Member
Former Member
Hi everyone! I am a runner who has discovered how much I like swimming! Right now, I am an on-again, off-again swimmer, only doing laps occasionally. Not too long ago my goal was to swim a mile non-stop, so I printed off Ruth Kazez "How to swim a mile in 6 weeks" (told ya I am a noob!). I am able to do that in around 30 minutes, which the lifeguard at the Y said wasn't a bad time, especially for a beginner (I'm happy about that, considering the first time I tried to swim, I was out of breath after 1 lap!). Anyway, as I said I enjoy swimming so much and I now want to get serious about it and perhaps even compete in some meets at some point down the road. A little more about me: I am a 45 yo female and I would consider myself pretty fit. In addition to running I do a pretty intense spin class at my gym a couple of days/week as well as a kettlebell, dumbbell, ropes circuit-style class 3-4 days/week. Truthfully, I don't enjoy running very much anymore (I have a history of running-related injuries, which is why I started swimming in the first place) and would gladly spend more time in the pool than I do on the road! As the title of my thread indicates, I don't really know how to get started. Everything I've read about new swimmers stresses how important a couple of lessons are. (I only swim freestyle - is that also called front crawl? - since I don't know how to swim any other stroke). Unfortunately we don't have a master's swim group in my city, so I was thinking once I learn proper form, I will do a little more research and figure out some drills, etc. Any advice, suggestions would be greatly appreciated!