Warming up, before the warmup?

I'm a newbie, to swimming for fitness, but not to general working out. I'm puzzled about how to make sure my aging bod is set for a good workout in the pool. I've always been under the impression that stretching cold muscles is not very productive, but I also don't think it's wise to drive to the pool, change, and hop straight in the pool and start doing laps. Do you stretch before you get in the pool (or er, intend to, anyway, most times lol?). Or does a hot tub do any good before a swim workout? It occurs to me that I'm beginning my swim workout "cold," and that it is maybe impeding my progress.
  • I think a lot of people out there swim too hard in their warm up or push the set distances too long. Great point! I think it is a lot easier for a beginner to "push too hard," too. What would be a warmup for another swimmer is, when you're still starting out, fairly challenging. I also think doing some landbased movement will let me focus on doing better technique, being able to focus more on my strokes and counts and so on, because my body should already be ready for swimming movement.
  • Thanks, Solarizing. This reminds me that while the parking around my swim center is great, I COULD certainly park a bit farther away (it is a college campus swim center) and use a short walk as part of the warmup. It sure seems right to me, that improvements in swimming come from ... swimming! I have felt how specific to swimming, endurance and technique are! I have always enjoyed some kind of athletic movement (well, at least since college when I kind of "discovered" sports I can love), but swimming can be pretty humbling haha.
  • Walking before a swim is a great way to get warmed up! How about trying some arm circles and streamlines with your arms while you walk? As long as you have the space to do it without clobbering somebody :afraid:, it would provide additional loosening up of your arms and shoulders.