Is USMS going to allow the new rule ratified by World Aquatics regarding backstroke and submerging once head passes 5m mark?
You can now be fully submerged at the finish as soon as your head passes 5m.
Some part of the swimmer must break the surface of the water throughout the race, except that once some part of the head of the swimmer has passed the 5 metres mark immediately prior to reaching for the finish, the swimmer may be completely submerged. It is also permissible for the swimmer to be completely submerged during the turn, and for a distance of not more than 15 metres after the start and each turn. By that point the head must have broken the surface.