Fast twitch?

From another thread: > I have no interest in short distances since I have no fast-twitch fibers to speak of. It's been decades since I was a physiology student, but I have to wonder if fast twitch fibers would be really all that useful to swimming, even to the short sprints. Maybe for 25s. I would think that larger cross sectional area of the swimming musculature (more available power) and the ability to recruit more muscle fibers simultaneously (using a larger fraction of the power on tap) would be more important for sprinting. Are there published studies which demonstrate that drop dead sprinters have a significantly different distribution of fast twitch and slow twitch muscle fibers than the rest of the swimming population?
  • I can't explain Dara except that maybe she missed her true calling, but this does explain why you're able to blast from the 50 to the 1650. Odd, I just watched a video on Dara Torres this weekend where she herself says that only her results and one other teammate were 75% fast twitch and the others were closer to 50/50. It's somewhere in this mess: http://youtu.be/lQsdJiT1OQM If I have time later I'll find the correct spot.
  • myself was 55% red (the slow) and 45% white (the fast). This maybe the case but ewoks are obviously faster per inch than humans. However you interpret the data you are one fast little ewok!!!! :)