Lifeguard intimidation

Former Member
Former Member
One of the reasons I hate swimming in outdoor community/development pools is the lifeguard glare you get when you come in with all your gear, prepared to swim and hour or two. :banana: I've been swimming outside for 25 years in the summer, and find that the guards are mostly all the same - texting, playing ball, sleeping, eating. Heaven forbid, they have to sit up and watch a swimmer. I feel like they really hate when I walk in because they have to actually do their job. I've treated them to lunch, ice cream, treats and some are fine, but overall, they are mostly very lazy. I tell them I had a guard cert, (I can swim better than almost all of them!), and they don't have to sit in the chair, or even watch, but I still feel the glare. I've even encountered a few occasions when the sun was shining and guards claimed they heard thunder. What happened to the good old days when guards sat in the chair and did their job without resentment? I only see that type of mentality at the indoor pools. On rainy days, they really give me the evil eye. :badday:
  • philoswimmer, I thought the same thing and wondered why they only focused on these guys. But I enjoyed the video and tried not to be disappointed that women were not included. I tried, too. But after 30 years of trying, I'm tried out. (I enjoyed the video anyway -- it was very cool. But it could have been cooler).
  • Yes, great video, thanks! But one small bone to pick: despite the impression you might get from the video, there are women lifeguards on Oahu (I checked). A bit of a sore point for me as a former beach lifeguard, but I wouldn't have thought I'd need to say that almost 30 years later...